Dad’s Army Radio Show

Spring 2019 UK tour dates below

Wilton’s Music Hall, London, 22-26 January 2019 – now on sale

Based on the classic BBC sitcom by Jimmy Perry and David Croft, and the radio adaptations by Harold Snoad and Michael Knowles.  Performed by David Benson and Jack Lane with direction by Owen Lewis and sound design by Tom Lishman.

Two actors play 25 characters in this brilliant staging of classic radio scripts based on favourite episodes from the original TV series. Celebrating 50 years of Perry and Croft’s quintessential sitcom, which won the ‘Best One-Liner’ accolade in a poll of comedians conducted earlier this year by Gold, with the immortal words “Don’t tell him, Pike”.

Double Fringe First Award winner David Benson (star of Think No Evil of Us: My Life With Kenneth Williams and Boris: World King) and Jack Lane (Wisdom Of A Fool) star in this acclaimed show’s London premiere season following a sold-out run at the Edinburgh Fringe. Featuring favourite lines, cherished characters and great feats of vocal impersonation!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“What a feat of mimicry! Pretty much perfect. A deluxe fan event… uses wild skill to make us feel a warming, fond reverie.” – The Times

“The best-loved of all British comedies.” – Daily Telegraph

“Benson and Lane’s impersonations are peerless, the show an absolute treat from start to finish. Wonderful stuff!” – Daily Mail

“Lewis’s direction and Lishman’s sound design give real light and shade in which the two versatile performers shine” – The Arts Desk

★★★★★ “Classic British comedy recreated by two classic performers. A show not to miss” – Southside Advertiser

UK Tour Dates – Spring 2019

Date Venue Link
Sun 20-Jan The Lowry, Salford https://thelowry.com/whats-on/dads-army-radio-show/
Tue 22-Jan Wiltons Music Hall https://www.wiltons.org.uk/whatson/500-dad-s-army-radio-show
Tue 29-Jan Aberystwyth Arts Centre aberystwythartscentre.co.uk
Wed 30-Jan Gladstone Theatre, Wirral https://www.gladstonetheatre.org.uk/index.php/22-comedy/272-dad-s-army
Sat 09-Feb Empire Hall, Graffham https://www.empirehall.org.uk/aec_events/dads-army-radio-show/
Sun 10-Feb Wyllyotts Theatre, Potters Bar https://www.tickets.wyllyottstheatre.co.uk/en-GB/shows/dad’s%20army%20radio%20hour/info
Tue 12-Feb The Core Theatre, Solihull http://thecoretheatresolihull.co.uk/whats-on/all-shows/dads-army-radio-show/20171
Fri 15-Feb Theatre Royal, Windsor http://www.theatreroyalwindsor.co.uk/details.php?id=721
Thu 21-Feb Norwich Playhouse http://www.norwichplayhouse.co.uk/whats-on/detail/dads-army-radio-show
Fri 22-Feb Revelation, Ashford https://revelationashford.co.uk/whats-on/dads-army-radio-show/
Sat 23-Feb Comedy Festival Leicester http://comedy-festival.co.uk/event/dads-army-radio-show/
Thu 28-Feb Darlington Hippodrome https://www.darlingtonhippodrome.co.uk/whats-on/dads-army-radio-show/
Fri 01-Mar Brunton, Musselburgh https://www.eastlothian.gov.uk/thebrunton/events/event/109/dad_s_army_radio_show
Sat 02-Mar Festival Theatre, Pitlochry https://pitlochryfestivaltheatre.com/production/31214/dads-army-radio-show/
Sun 03-Mar The Old Laundry, Bowness https://www.oldlaundrytheatre.co.uk/event/dads-army-radio-show/
Mon 04-Mar City Music Hall, Leeds cityvarieties.co.uk
Tue 26-Mar The Witham, Barnard Castle http://www.thewitham.org.uk/index.php/whats-on/theatre/item/1510-dads-army-radio-show?highlight=WyJkYWRzIl0=
Wed 27-Mar Middlesbrough Theatre https://www.middlesbroughtheatre.co.uk/shows/dads-army-radio-show/
Wed 03-Apr Nuffield Southampton Theatres City https://www.nstheatres.co.uk/whats-on/dads-army-radio-show
Thu 04-Apr The Exchange, Twickenham https://exchangetwickenham.co.uk/event/1661/
Fri 05-Apr Chequer Mead, East Grinstead https://www.chequermead.org.uk/whats-on/theatre/event/?e=367945&cat=03
Thu 16-May Finzean Hall, Aberdeenshire neatshows.co.uk
Fri 17-May Alvah Parish Hall, Aberdeenshire neatshows.co.uk
Sat 18-May Johnshaven Village Hall, Johnshaven neatshows.co.uk
Sun 19-May The Phoenix Centre, Aberdeen neatshows.co.uk
Fri 19-Jul Smallhythe Place, Tenterden www.nationaltrust.org.uk/smallhythe-place