Dad’s Army Radio Show

Spring & Summer 2019 UK tour dates below

Based on the classic BBC sitcom by Jimmy Perry and David Croft, and the radio adaptations by Harold Snoad and Michael Knowles.  Performed by David Benson and Jack Lane with direction by Owen Lewis and sound design by Tom Lishman.

Two actors play 25 characters in this brilliant staging of classic radio scripts based on favourite episodes from the original TV series. Celebrating 50 years of Perry and Croft’s quintessential sitcom, which won the ‘Best One-Liner’ accolade in a poll of comedians conducted earlier this year by Gold, with the immortal words “Don’t tell him, Pike”.

Double Fringe First Award winner David Benson (star of Think No Evil of Us: My Life With Kenneth Williams and Boris: World King) and Jack Lane (Wisdom Of A Fool) star in this acclaimed show’s London premiere season following a sold-out run at the Edinburgh Fringe. Featuring favourite lines, cherished characters and great feats of vocal impersonation!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“What a feat of mimicry! Pretty much perfect. A deluxe fan event… uses wild skill to make us feel a warming, fond reverie.” – The Times

“The best-loved of all British comedies.” – Daily Telegraph

“Benson and Lane’s impersonations are peerless, the show an absolute treat from start to finish. Wonderful stuff!” – Daily Mail

“Lewis’s direction and Lishman’s sound design give real light and shade in which the two versatile performers shine” – The Arts Desk

★★★★★ “Classic British comedy recreated by two classic performers. A show not to miss” – Southside Advertiser

UK Tour Dates – Spring/Summer 2019

Date Venue Link
Thu 21-Feb (SOLD OUT) Norwich Playhouse norwichplayhouse.co.uk
Fri 22-Feb Revelation, Ashford revelationashford.co.uk
Sat 23-Feb Comedy Festival Leicester comedy-festival.co.uk
Thu 28-Feb Darlington Hippodrome darlingtonhippodrome.co.uk
Fri 01-Mar Brunton, Musselburgh eastlothian.gov.uk
Sat 02-Mar Festival Theatre, Pitlochry pitlochryfestivaltheatre.com
Sun 03-Mar The Old Laundry, Bowness oldlaundrytheatre.co.uk
Mon 04-Mar City Music Hall, Leeds cityvarieties.co.uk
Tue 26-Mar The Witham, Barnard Castle thewitham.org.uk
Wed 27-Mar Middlesbrough Theatre middlesbroughtheatre.co.uk
Wed 03-Apr Nuffield Southampton Theatres City nstheatres.co.uk
Thu 04-Apr The Exchange, Twickenham exchangetwickenham.co.uk
Fri 05-Apr Chequer Mead, East Grinstead chequermead.org.uk
Wed 08-May Hazlitt Theatre, Maidstone parkwoodtheatres.co.uk
Fri 10-May Carnegie Room, Thetford leapinghare.org
Thu 16-May Finzean Hall, Aberdeenshire neatshows.co.uk
Fri 17-May Alvah Parish Hall, Aberdeenshire neatshows.co.uk
Sat 18-May Johnshaven Village Hall, Johnshaven neatshows.co.uk
Sun 19-May The Phoenix Centre, Aberdeen neatshows.co.uk
Fri 19-Jul (SOLD OUT)
& Sat 20-Jul (SOLD OUT)
Smallhythe Place, Tenterden nationaltrust.org.uk
Wed 24-Jul (EXTRA DATE) Norwich Playhouse norwichplayhouse.co.uk